Rain, Rain, don’t go away…

I was driving home yesterday on the hot summer’s day, and the rain was coming down in droves.  Even at the fastest setting, my wipers were barely able to keep up with the downpour on the 401.  I was trying to make it home as fast as I could so that I could take advantage of this opportunity!  Call me crazy, but I wanted to run in the heavy rain.

They say that you should expose yourself to all kinds of conditions for running so that you will have experienced it, and be better prepared for it should it happen to you on race day.  Cold weather, rainy weather, hot weather.

I made it home in good time despite the slowdown of all the cars crawling along the highway, and I continued to convince myself that this was a good idea.  I peered out of the window and the rain was starting to slow.  Drat!

I quickly zipped into my running gear like superman in a phone booth and off I went.  I wanted to get in a good tempo run to see if I could keep up my pace in the rain, so I shot down Yonge street towards York Mills.  Armed with my GPS watch, I was surprised that I made the first km in such a furious pace.  The rain must’ve been helping me keep my body temperature in check, and I trotted on.

“More rain, more rain!”, I thought to myself.  It was starting to let up a bit, and I invited the fury upon me.  By the time I hit the bottom of York Mills my prayers had been answered.  My shirt was soaked to the bone and I was being cooled off as I ran up the monster hill on Yonge as I darted towards Lawrence.

I felt like a modern day warrior as I witnessed passerbyers cowering underneath their pithy umbrellas, trying to stave away one of the beauty’s of nature.  Embrace the rain I say!  I could run for miles!  Or so I thought.

When I hit Lawrence, it was about 7km, so it was time to turn around.  The rain was starting to abade, and the hot sun was coming out to dry me off.  Nooooo!  It was no fun anymore.  I could hear the sloshiness of my rain ridden shoes and a blister was starting to form on my right foot.  My clothes went from being protectors of the water onslaught to an exercise in weighted running.  I transformed back into a regular runner.

I made it back home totaling about an hour’s worth of running, and I was ready to hang up my water worn shoes.  I truly enjoyed running in the rain, as unideal as it was.

Let no amount of bad weather stop me!

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by marathonnewb on August 11, 2010 at 6:10 pm

    Craaaazy!
    If a smell a funk next time we’re running, I’ll know it’s you and your moldy water-logged shoes! : )

    Reply

  2. Posted by Jason on August 11, 2010 at 10:11 pm

    It’s true. Those shoes collected water like a sponge! (>_<)

    Reply

  3. I hope you didn’t catch any cold or the flu after that. I think it really is not ideal to be running in the rain but you did it. LOL. Congrats on that!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

